Am I already covered?
Quick answer by carrier, before the cost breakdown.
AT&T
Works, but it's $12/day
International Day Pass bills $12 for every day your phone connects in Turkey, capped at 10 days per bill period ($120). Nothing is included on the plan itself.
Verizon
Works, but it's $12/day
TravelPass bills $12 per line for every day used. There's no cap: two weeks is 15 charges, $180.
T-Mobile
Depends on your plan
Experience More/Beyond, Go5G Plus/Next, MAX and Better Value get 30GB of high-speed data at most. Go5G, Magenta and One get 256 kbps only — Turkey isn't one of the 11 European countries with a partial exception.
Roaming or a travel eSIM never triggers Turkey's phone-registration rule. It only applies past about 120 days, and mainly to a local Turkish SIM.
Calculate your trip: 7 or 15 days
As of September 2026
Pick your trip length and we'll compare the three carriers' passes, a Turkcell tourist SIM and a travel eSIM (FairSIM) side by side. Everything is in US dollars; Turkcell is priced in lira, so its dollar figure is an estimate at today's rate.
Trip length
AT&T Day Pass
$84
Home-plan data, 7 days (7 × $12)
- Pro: Already on your phone
- Pro: Your full home-plan data
- Con: $12 every day you connect
- Con: Postpaid plans only
Verizon TravelPass
$84
5GB/day, 7 days (7 × $12)
- Pro: Already on your phone
- Pro: Hotspot not confirmed — ask Verizon
- Con: $12 every day you connect
- Con: 3G after 5GB in a day
T-Mobile (included)
$0
$0 upfront — allowance depends on your plan
- Pro: Nothing to buy
- Pro: Already on your phone
- Con: 256 kbps on Go5G/Magenta/One
- Con: Up to 30GB on higher tiers
Want full speed on Go5G/Magenta/One? International Pass: 1 day/512MB $5, 10 days/15GB $50, 30 days/30GB $75.
Turkcell Tourist Pack
1,800 TL
(USD conversion unavailable)
20GB + 200 min, 28 days (one pack, however long you stay)
- Pro: More data than most eSIM plans
- Pro: Includes a Turkish number
- Con: Passport + store visit
- Con: Doesn't install before you fly
FairSIM eSIM
$18.99
10GB, 30 days
- Pro: Fair price
- Pro: Add data anytime
- Pro: Hotspot, no cap
- Con: No calls included
- Con: Less data than Turkcell
- AT&T and Verizon charge only on days your phone connects in Turkey; AT&T stops charging after 10 daily fees per bill period, Verizon never does.
- T-Mobile: Turkey is $0 on every plan, but only Experience More/Beyond, Go5G Plus/Next, MAX and Better Value get high-speed data (up to 30GB) — Go5G, Magenta and One get 256 kbps from the first MB. Calls are $0.50/min on every tier.
- Turkcell: one 28-day pack, whatever your trip length — it isn't priced per day, so it doesn't change between the 7- and 15-day tabs. Lira converted at today's rate.
AT&T in Turkey: International Day Pass
Turkey is a standard International Day Pass destination — AT&T's own travel guide lists it alongside its 210+ other countries. AT&T International Day Pass switches on the first time your phone connects abroad and bills a flat daily fee for every day you use it — data, calls and texts drawn from your home plan.
| Option | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Day Pass, first line | $12/day | Charged only on days the phone actually connects in Turkey |
| Day Pass, each additional line | $6/day | For other lines on the same account, on the same day |
| Maximum per line, per bill period | $120 | 10 daily fees; service continues at no extra charge after that |
The cap is real and documented: AT&T's support article states you'll never pay more than 10 daily fees per line, per bill period, for land and air travel. After day 10 the line keeps working for the rest of the bill period at no extra charge — so a 15-day trip costs $120, not 15 × $12. One catch: if your trip straddles two bill periods, the count starts again.
Hotspot: AT&T doesn't state a blanket yes or no for the Day Pass — it depends on your specific domestic plan's own hotspot allowance. Check with AT&T before you count on tethering a laptop.
Verizon in Turkey: TravelPass
Verizon TravelPass works the same way: $12 per line for every day you use your phone in Turkey, drawing on your home plan. Verizon's own TravelPass country list confirms Turkey at $12 a day.
| Option | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| TravelPass, per line | $12/day | Charged only on days the phone actually connects in Turkey |
| Data before slowdown | 5 GB/day | 5GB of high-speed data per day, then 3G speeds until the next day |
TravelPass has no cap. There's no per-trip or per-billing-cycle ceiling: $12 a day for every day used, so a 15-day trip is $180. Background data can start a session on its own if roaming is left on, so it's worth turning off if you're only using FairSIM for data.
Hotspot: not stated in Verizon's TravelPass terms or International Travel FAQ. Same as AT&T — depends on your plan, so confirm before you rely on it.
Longer trip? Verizon has a cheaper option
For a 15-day trip, Verizon's $100 International Monthly Plan (20GB high-speed, then 3G, for the whole billing cycle) usually beats paying the daily TravelPass rate for every day.
FairSIM eSIM for Turkey: plans and pricing
With FairSIM you buy a data package for the trip itself, separate from your US plan. The calculator above uses the 10GB plan for a week and Unlimited for two.
- 10GB / 30 days: $18.99
- 5GB / 30 days: $9.99
- 1GB / 7 days: $4.99
- Unlimited / 15 days: $33.99 — 1GB/day at full speed, then 1 Mbps, never cuts off
Install it before you leave the US. When you land at Istanbul Airport or Sabiha Gökçen, your data is already working — no store, no passport scan, no airport queue.
Set it up before you travel by following the steps in the app — or read the full how eSIM works guide if it's your first time.
It's data only — keep your US SIM for calls and codes
FairSIM doesn't carry your US number. Calls, texts and the banking or 2FA codes tied to it still arrive on your US SIM, so leave that line active (on carrier roaming or WiFi calling) and let FairSIM handle data. Hotspot is included on every plan, with no separate cap.
Going on to Greece or elsewhere in Europe? Europe Extra covers Turkey plus every EU country, the UK, Switzerland and more, on one eSIM.
T-Mobile in Turkey: $0, but 256 kbps on popular plans
Let's be straight about this: on every T-Mobile plan, Turkey data costs $0 upfront. T-Mobile's international page confirms it — no add-on to buy. But how much of that $0 is actually useful depends heavily on which plan you're on.
Here's exactly what each tier gets you in Turkey:
| Plan tier | High-speed data in Turkey |
|---|---|
| Better Value | 30GB, then 256 kbps |
| Experience Beyond 2.0 / Go5G Next | 15GB, then 256 kbps |
| Experience More 2.0 / Go5G Plus / MAX / One Plus | 5GB, then 256 kbps |
| Go5G / Magenta / One | None — 256 kbps only, from the first MB |
The catch: Turkey isn't one of the 11 European countries where Go5G, Magenta and One get a 5GB high-speed exception — it's treated like the rest of the world on those tiers, which means 256 kbps from the first megabyte. That's fine for WhatsApp texts, but too slow for maps, ride-hailing apps, live translation or video.
Calls aren't included in the free allowance either: $0.50 a minute, on every tier. Older plans without an international benefit at all pay $1/MB for data — worth checking before you fly if you've had your plan a long time.
T-Mobile's paid option: International Pass
If your plan is Go5G, Magenta or One, T-Mobile sells a paid top-up, the International Pass. Every tier includes hotspot and free calls.
| Pass | Price | High-speed data |
|---|---|---|
| 1-day pass | $5 | 512MB |
| 10-day pass | $50 | 15GB |
| 30-day pass | $75 | 30GB |
The T-Mobile case for an eSIM: a supplement, not a replacement
Keep your T-Mobile line exactly as it is — free texts, free basic data, your own number for calls and verification codes. Add a FairSIM eSIM for full-speed data: $18.99 for a week beats the $50 pass, and $33.99 for two weeks beats the $75 pass — though to be fair, the 30GB pass carries more full-speed data than FairSIM's Unlimited plan's 1GB/day cap.
Turkcell tourist SIM: price, documents, trade-offs
Turkcell is Turkey's largest network, and its Tourist Welcome Pack is the local SIM most US travel guides point to. It's a fair alternative, not a strawman — presented honestly, it's close on price and gives more data plus a Turkish number.
| Price | 1,800 TL, 28 days — campaign price published through December 31, 2026 |
|---|---|
| Includes | 20GB, 200 local minutes, a Turkish number |
| Documents | A valid physical passport. App self-activation of the eSIM needs a chip (biometric) passport, an NFC scan and a selfie check, which often fails — a store visit is more reliable |
| Where | City-centre Turkcell stores are cheaper than airport kiosks |
| Hotspot | Allowed |
| Phone limit | A foreign phone with a Turkish SIM gets about 120 days before IMEI registration is needed |
Turkcell is a good deal if you want a Turkish number and don't mind a store visit and passport registration. FairSIM costs less, is set up before you fly, and works as soon as you land — but Turkcell's pack does carry more data (20GB vs. FairSIM Unlimited's roughly 15GB of full-speed data over 15 days).
Other Turkcell tourist packs (a smaller Mini pack, a larger Super Data pack) exist but aren't quoted here until verified directly on Turkcell's own site.
Can I use my phone as a hotspot in Turkey?
A quick comparison, since none of the three US carriers state a blanket policy for their included roaming.
| Option | Hotspot |
|---|---|
| AT&T Day Pass | Depends on your plan (not stated by AT&T) |
| Verizon TravelPass | Depends on your plan (not stated by Verizon) |
| T-Mobile International Pass | Yes, included |
| T-Mobile included roaming | Not stated; 256 kbps on Go5G/Magenta/One regardless |
| Turkcell | Yes |
| FairSIM | Yes, no cap |
Do I need to register my phone in Turkey?
No, not for a normal trip. Turkey's phone-registration rule (IMEI registration, roughly ₺3,000–4,000 and a store or PTT visit) applies to a foreign phone running on a local Turkish SIM for about 120 days (some guides say 90 — confirm locally if you're staying that long). It doesn't apply to roaming on your US carrier or to a travel eSIM: both roam onto Turkish networks rather than register a Turkish SIM profile, so a typical 7- or 15-day trip is never affected either way.
The five options at a glance
| AT&T | Verizon | T-Mobile | Turkcell | FairSIM | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7-day cost | $84 | $84 | $0 (or $5 for a full-speed day pass) | 1,800 TL | $18.99 |
| 15-day cost | $120 (capped) | $180 (no cap) | $0 (or $75 for a full-speed pass) | 1,800 TL (same pack) | $33.99 |
| High-speed data | Your home plan's allowance | 5GB/day, then 3G | Up to 30GB (by plan), or 256 kbps on Go5G/Magenta/One | 20GB over 28 days | 10GB, or 1GB/day unlimited plan |
| After the limit | Nothing — home plan continues | 3G until the next day | 256 kbps for the rest of the trip | Standard speed continues | 1 Mbps — never cuts off |
| Hotspot | Depends on your plan — confirm | Depends on your plan — confirm | Included on a pass; not confirmed on the free tier | Yes | Yes, no cap |
| Calls | Included in the daily fee | Included in the daily fee | $0.50/min on the free tier, free on a pass | 200 local minutes included | No calls — keep your US SIM |
| Local Turkish number | No | No | No | Yes | No |
| Setup effort | Nothing — it activates on first use | Nothing — it activates on first use | Nothing | Store visit + passport (or a fiddly app scan) | Install in the app before you leave |
| Keeps your US number | Yes | Yes | Yes | Only with a dual-SIM phone | Only alongside your US SIM |
Why eSIM wins for Turkey
See Turkey plansA fraction of the daily-pass cost
$18.99 for a week versus $84 on AT&T or Verizon.
Full speed where T-Mobile's popular plans throttle
Go5G, Magenta and One get 256 kbps in Turkey with nothing to buy; a FairSIM eSIM gets you full speed instead.
No store, no passport scan, no airport queue
Install before you fly and it works the moment you land at Istanbul Airport — nothing Turkcell's in-person registration requires.
Hotspot with no cap
Neither AT&T nor Verizon confirms a blanket hotspot policy for their included roaming; FairSIM includes it on every plan, uncapped.
Keep your US number
Calls, texts and 2FA codes stay on your home SIM; FairSIM just handles the data.
Going on to Greece?
One Europe Extra eSIM covers Turkey and every EU country on a single plan, so a Turkey-plus-Greece trip doesn't need two SIMs.
Frequently asked questions
Does my US phone work in Turkey, and how much does AT&T or Verizon charge?
Yes — Turkey is a standard destination on both. AT&T's International Day Pass and Verizon's TravelPass both bill $12 a day, charged only on days you use the phone. A week is $84 on either; at 15 days AT&T caps you at 10 daily fees ($120) while Verizon has no cap and bills all 15 ($180).
Is T-Mobile's free roaming enough in Turkey?
It depends entirely on your plan. Experience More/Beyond, Go5G Plus/Next, MAX and Better Value get up to 30GB of high-speed data at $0. Go5G, Magenta and One get 256 kbps only, from the first megabyte — Turkey doesn't get the partial exception some other European countries get on those tiers. Calls are $0.50/min regardless of plan.
Do I need to register my phone in Turkey?
Not for roaming or a travel eSIM, and not for a typical 7- to 15-day trip on a local SIM either. The registration rule only applies to a foreign phone running a Turkish SIM profile past about 120 days.
Is a Turkcell SIM cheaper than an eSIM? What documents do I need?
Close, but not cheaper: Turkcell's Tourist Welcome Pack is 1,800 TL for 20GB over 28 days, versus $18.99 for FairSIM's 10GB. Turkcell needs a physical passport and, in practice, a store visit — the app's self-activation scan (chip passport, NFC, selfie) fails often enough that a store is more reliable. It does include more data and a Turkish number, which FairSIM doesn't.
Can I use my phone as a hotspot in Turkey?
With FairSIM, yes, with no separate cap. AT&T and Verizon don't state a blanket policy for their included roaming — check your specific plan. T-Mobile includes hotspot on a paid International Pass; its free included tier doesn't confirm it either way, and Go5G/Magenta/One are at 256 kbps regardless.
Can I still get texts and calls on my US number with a FairSIM eSIM?
Yes — on your US SIM, not on FairSIM. FairSIM is data only. Keep your US line active alongside it for calls, texts and verification codes, and let FairSIM carry the data.
Does FairSIM work in Turkey and Greece on one eSIM?
Yes — Europe Extra covers Turkey plus every EU country, the UK, Switzerland, Norway and more on a single plan, which is simpler than a separate Turkey-only eSIM if the trip crosses a border.
What happens after 1GB a day on the Unlimited plan?
Speed drops to 1 Mbps for the rest of that day — enough for messaging, maps and browsing, just not full-speed streaming. It never cuts off completely, and the 1GB/day allowance renews daily for the full 15 days.
Do apps like WhatsApp and FaceTime work normally in Turkey?
Yes, over data, whether you're roaming or on a FairSIM eSIM. A data-only eSIM doesn't give you a Turkish number, so keep your home SIM active for SMS codes.
Your Turkey eSIM, ready before you fly
Choose your plan and pay on the web. Install the eSIM at home and your data works the moment you land.
Plans from $4.99
See Turkey plans